Start over?

This clears all 11 answers and your saved planner settings on this device. Your plan will be rebuilt when you answer again.

Loading schools…
MBA in Japan

Every way into an MBA in Japan

10 full-time programs, checked against each school's official page. Fees, GMAT rules, scholarships and how selection works.

Pick your way in

With a GMAT or GRE score

Hitotsubashi ICS and Waseda's main track require a score; neither publishes a minimum. A strong score also unlocks the biggest scholarships elsewhere.

Without a GMAT

GLOBIS, NUCB, Doshisha, Hosei, Tsukuba and IUJ admit on essays, English score, work experience and an interview. At IUJ a GMAT/GRE score replaces the interview.

Taught in Japanese

Keio Business School teaches core courses in Japanese and tests your Japanese in the interview. Plan for business-level Japanese (around JLPT N1) before applying.

Scholarship or self-funded

Self-funded is the default. Scholarships range from 20% tuition cuts to full tuition plus a monthly allowance (Hitotsubashi YLP, MEXT, APU up to 100%). They are competitive and decided with your application.

Compare the programs

Taught in
GMAT / GRE
Sort

10 / 10

Hitotsubashi ICS MBA

Hitotsubashi University, School of International Corporate Strategy

National · Tokyo English 1 or 2 years

Total fees¥924,960¥282,000 + ¥642,960 per year (1-year track)2-year track: ¥1,567,920. Tuition is the school's preliminary estimate. Fee source ↗

GMAT/GRE required

Scholarships
  • Young Leaders' Program: tuition and fees covered + ¥242,000/month (18 countries incl. India, Bangladesh, Philippines, Vietnam)
  • MEXT: tuition + ¥147,000/month, chosen from Round 1 admits
  • Bai Xian Asian Future Leaders: up to USD 25,000
Accreditation AACSB
Admission details

Hitotsubashi ICS MBA

Hitotsubashi University, School of International Corporate Strategy

National · Tokyo 1 or 2 yearsGMAT/GRE required

GMAT rule
GMAT or GRE required with no exceptions, no published minimum. Scores must be under 5 years old.
English
TOEFL/IELTS optional (YLP expects TOEFL iBT 100 or IELTS 7.0)
Work experience
2+ years full-time
Interview
Online, for shortlisted applicants. Checks thinking and communication skills. Decision 2–3 weeks later.
Intake
September
Next deadline
Round 1 closes Oct 8, 2026 · Round 2 Nov 9, 2026 – Feb 4, 2027

Tsukuba MBA in International Business

University of Tsukuba, Graduate School of Business Sciences

National · Tokyo English 2 years

Total fees¥1,353,600¥282,000 + ¥535,800 per yearAs of April 1, 2026. Tuition for international students changes from AY2027. Fee source ↗

GMAT optional

Scholarships
  • Admission fee exemption and tuition waiver (university-wide, need-based)
AccreditationNot confirmed, check with the school
Admission details

Tsukuba MBA in International Business

University of Tsukuba, Graduate School of Business Sciences

National · Tokyo 2 yearsGMAT optional

GMAT rule
Not required. Selection is documents, English ability and an interview.
English
Assessed as part of selection
Work experience
1+ year
Interview
Covers career experience, motivation, analytical and communication skills, and future vision.
Intake
April
Next deadline
April 2027 entry: applications closed Sep 11, 2026

Doshisha Global MBA

Doshisha Business School

Private · Kyoto English 2 years

Total fees¥1,836,000¥1,836,000 for 2 years (2026 entry)Includes ¥200,000 admission fee and facilities fees. Fee source ↗

GMAT optional, raises scholarship

Scholarships
  • Merit Scholarship (tuition reduction) open to every successful self-funded international applicant
  • MEXT University Recommendation (not expected for AY2027)
AccreditationNot confirmed, check with the school
Admission details

Doshisha Global MBA

Doshisha Business School

Private · Kyoto 2 yearsGMAT optional, raises scholarship

GMAT rule
Optional, no minimum; may be used to decide scholarship coverage for self-funded applicants.
English
TOEIC 760, TOEFL iBT 83, IELTS 6.0 or Cambridge FCE
Work experience
3+ years
Interview
Video interview with faculty on motivation, communication and fit. No written exam. Optional pre-interview with a professor.
Intake
September
Next deadline
Rolling rounds, about November to June

NUCB Global MBA

NUCB Business School

Private · Nagoya English 1 or 2 years

Total fees¥2,880,000¥2,880,000 (1-year Global MBA, 2027 entry)2-year track: ¥3,450,000. Fees include a ¥270,000 admission fee. Fee source ↗

GMAT optional, raises scholarship

Scholarships
  • GMAT-based: up to 80% off first-semester tuition
  • MEXT (embassy or university recommendation), housing scholarship
  • School says over 50% of international students receive a scholarship
Accreditation AACSB AMBA EQUIS
Admission details

NUCB Global MBA

NUCB Business School

Private · Nagoya 1 or 2 yearsGMAT optional, raises scholarship

GMAT rule
Optional. GMAT 720 / Focus 675 = 80%, 640 / 595 = 40%, 560 / 535 = 20% off first-semester tuition.
English
See admission information
Work experience
Not specified
Interview
Document review, then an interview with faculty (Zoom from abroad). Scholarship applicants also sit a timed essay.
Intake
Spring and Fall
Next deadline
Spring and Fall intakes

Hosei Global MBA

Hosei University, Business School of Innovation Management

Private · Tokyo English 1.5 years (3 semesters)

Total fees¥3,124,000¥1,222,000 first semester, then ¥951,000 per semesterTotal over the 3 semesters in the official fee table. Fee source ↗

GMAT optional

Scholarships
  • Tuition reduction for self-funded international students in financial need (last year: 20% of tuition)
AccreditationNot confirmed, check with the school
Admission details

Hosei Global MBA

Hosei University, Business School of Innovation Management

Private · Tokyo 1.5 years (3 semesters)GMAT optional

GMAT rule
Not required. Selection is documents, two essays and recommendations, then an interview.
English
TOEIC 740, TOEFL iBT 81 or IELTS 6.0
Work experience
3+ years full-time
Interview
Second-round interview for shortlisted applicants (Zoom from abroad).
Intake
September
Next deadline
See the yearly application guidelines (up to 15 students)

Waseda International MBA

Waseda Business School

Private · Tokyo English 2 years

Total fees¥4,176,000¥4,176,000 for 2 years (2026 entry)Includes ¥300,000 registration fee. Fee source ↗

GMAT/GRE required

Scholarships
  • ¥500,000/year for successful self-funded applicants living outside Japan
  • Partial tuition waiver: 50% of one year's tuition
  • Azusa Ono Memorial: ¥400,000/year · Honors Scholarship: ¥48,000/month
Accreditation AACSB EQUIS
Admission details

Waseda International MBA

Waseda Business School

Private · Tokyo 2 yearsGMAT/GRE required

GMAT rule
GMAT/GRE required on the main track (test-centre scores only, within 5 years), no minimum. Optional on the Family Business Successors track.
English
Score required, no minimum
Work experience
Not specified
Interview
Main track: mostly document review, online interview for some applicants. Family Business track: in-person interview in Tokyo.
Intake
September
Next deadline
Round 1 Oct 21, 2026 · Round 2 Jan 20, 2027 · Round 3 Mar 31, 2027

APU MBA

Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, Graduate School of Management

Private · Beppu English 2 years

Total fees¥4,400,000¥200,000 + ¥4,200,000 tuition (from AY2027)Reduced by the APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship. Fee source ↗

GMAT optional, raises scholarship

Scholarships
  • APU Tuition Reduction: 30%, 50%, 65%, 80% or 100%, decided at admission
  • MEXT University Recommendation: full tuition + ¥144,000/month
Accreditation AACSB
Admission details

APU MBA

Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, Graduate School of Management

Private · Beppu 2 yearsGMAT optional, raises scholarship

GMAT rule
Strong emphasis on GMAT in evaluation; GRE also encouraged.
English
Score required (some tests such as TOEFL ITP are not accepted)
Work experience
See current application page
Interview
Part of evaluation, together with documents and assessment tests.
Intake
April and September
Next deadline
Rounds for April and September entry

GLOBIS Full-time MBA

GLOBIS University

Private · Tokyo English 1 year

Total fees¥4,725,000¥225,000 + ¥4,500,000 tuitionThe 2026 admission guide listed ¥4,425,000; the current fees page lists ¥4,725,000. Fee source ↗

GMAT optional, raises scholarship

Scholarships
  • GLOBIS scholarship: covers tuition only, number not disclosed
  • GLOBIS education loans for admitted non-Japanese students on a student visa
AccreditationAccredited in Japan by JUAA; does not seek AACSB, EQUIS or AMBA by choice.
Admission details

GLOBIS Full-time MBA

GLOBIS University

Private · Tokyo 1 yearGMAT optional, raises scholarship

GMAT rule
Optional with a bachelor's degree and 2 years' work; a strong score raises scholarship chances.
English
Score required for non-native speakers; TOEIC 850, TOEFL iBT 100 or IELTS 6.5 preferred
Work experience
2+ years full-time, age 22+
Interview
Interview or examination by invitation after document review.
Intake
September
Next deadline
One intake a year (September)

IUJ MBA

International University of Japan, GSIM

Private · Niigata English 2 years (1-year Intensive MBA also offered)

Total fees¥6,700,000¥300,000 + ¥3,200,000 per year (2-year track)1-year track: ¥3,900,000 tuition. Many IUJ scholarships reduce this. Fee source ↗

GMAT optional

Scholarships
  • IUJ scholarships to offset tuition (see the official scholarship page)
Accreditation AACSB
Admission details

IUJ MBA

International University of Japan, GSIM

Private · Niigata 2 years (1-year Intensive MBA also offered)GMAT optional

GMAT rule
Optional. If you submit GMAT/GRE you skip the interview; otherwise you are interviewed online.
English
TOEFL, IELTS or TOEIC required unless your degree was taught in English
Work experience
Not specified
Interview
Online, on a fixed date per round. Waived if you submit GMAT/GRE.
Intake
September
Next deadline
Round 1 Dec 10, 2026 · Round 2 Feb 11, 2027 · Round 3 Apr 14, 2027

Keio Business School MBA

Keio University, Graduate School of Business Administration

Private · Yokohama Japanese 2 years

Total feesSee Keio's graduate fee scheduleKeio publishes master's fees in yearly PDFs. Fee source ↗

No GMAT, written exam

Scholarships
  • MEXT and university scholarships (see Keio's pages)
Accreditation AACSB EQUIS
Admission details

Keio Business School MBA

Keio University, Graduate School of Business Administration

Private · Yokohama 2 yearsNo GMAT, written exam

GMAT rule
No GMAT. General admission uses document screening, a written exam and an interview.
English
Japanese is mandatory; it is tested in the interview
Work experience
Not specified
Interview
Part of general admission; also used to evaluate your Japanese.
Intake
April
Next deadline
Two exam rounds (Fall and Spring); details on the Japanese site

Can you get in just by paying?

No. Every program here selects through your documents, and almost all through an interview. Paying the fees comes after you are admitted, never instead of it.

  • Self-funded applicants go through the same review as scholarship applicants.
  • Your student visa needs a Certificate of Eligibility, which the school applies for only after admitting you.
  • Apply on the school's official portal. Application fees are small (Hitotsubashi ICS: ¥30,000).
  • Treat any agent who promises guaranteed admission for a fee as a red flag.

Study in Japan: immigration and student visas ↗

The interview: what they ask and how to prepare

What schools say they assess

  • Hitotsubashi ICSThinking and communication skills, awareness of management issues and your own career
  • DoshishaMotivation, communication skills and fit with the program
  • TsukubaCareer experience, motivation, analytical and communication skills, future vision
  • Keio (Japanese MBA)Your Japanese proficiency, alongside the usual criteria

Questions to prepare for

  1. Tell us about yourself: the values that guide you, your strengths and weaknesses.
  2. What are your short-term and long-term career goals?
  3. Why an MBA, why in Japan, and why this school now?
  4. Describe a time you saw the need for change at work. What was your role and the result?
  5. Tell us about a recent workplace conflict. What did you do and what did you learn?
  6. What impact do you want to make after graduating?
  7. Walk us through your current job and your biggest achievement in it.
  8. What will you bring to class discussions and team projects?
  9. Do you have any questions for us?

Built from Hitotsubashi ICS's official essay prompts and the criteria schools publish. Exact questions vary by interviewer.

How to prepare

  • Re-read your own essays: interviewers often use them as the script.
  • Prepare 3–4 short stories (situation, action, result, lesson) about leading, conflict and change.
  • Know the curriculum, a few professors and why this program fits your goal better than others.
  • Practise online: most interviews are by Zoom, so test your camera, light and connection.
  • Answer in 1–2 minutes, then stop. Have two thoughtful questions ready.
  • For a Japanese-taught MBA, practise the whole interview in Japanese.
Sources 14

Checked on Oct 17, 2026 against official pages. Fees and rules change every year, so confirm on the school's site before you pay.

Master's in Japan

Every way into a Master's in Japan

9 English-taught programs, checked against each university's official page. Fees, how you get in, and how to get it funded.

Pick your way in

Find a professor first

Many national universities want a supervisor's consent before you apply. Email a professor your CV and a short research proposal well ahead. Science Tokyo and Nagoya's G30 work this way.

Apply on your documents

Sophia decides M.A. places on your documents alone. APU adds a video interview and online tests. A strong statement and English score matter most.

Fully funded: MEXT

Japan's government pays tuition, ¥144,000 a month and your flights. Apply at the Japanese embassy from about mid-April; you must be born on or after April 2, 1992.

Research student first

Join a lab as a non-degree research student with a professor's acceptance, then sit the master's exam. Cheaper (Tohoku: ¥84,600 + ¥29,700 a month), but it is not a degree.

Compare the programs

University
How you get in
Sort

9 / 9

IPADS Master's (Agricultural Development)

University of Tokyo, International Program in Agricultural Development Studies

National · Tokyo English 2 years

Total fees¥1,353,600¥282,000 + ¥535,800 per yearUTokyo says these are correct as of October 2026. Fee source ↗

Set by each program

Scholarships
  • IPADS research grant: ¥200,000 a month for an outstanding applicant each year
  • MEXT: embassy or university recommendation (you can't apply to both for IPADS)
Admission details

IPADS Master's (Agricultural Development)

University of Tokyo, International Program in Agricultural Development Studies

National · Tokyo 2 yearsSet by each program

How you get in
Selected by the IPADS examination committee in two screening rounds.
English
See IPADS admission requirements
Selection
Two screening rounds by the IPADS examination committee.
Intake
October
Next deadline
2027 October intake (see IPADS admissions)

Future Global Leadership (FGL) Master's

Tohoku University

National · Sendai English 2 years

Total fees¥1,353,600¥282,000 + ¥535,800 per yearGraduate application fee ¥30,000. Fee source ↗

Set by each program

Scholarships
  • Need-based waivers: half or all of the entrance fee, and a third, half or all of tuition
  • MEXT and other programs for graduate students
Admission details

Future Global Leadership (FGL) Master's

Tohoku University

National · Sendai 2 yearsSet by each program

How you get in
Each FGL graduate program sets its own selection in its application guidelines.
English
Set by each program
Selection
Set by each program.
Intake
October
Next deadline
See each FGL program's guidelines

English-taught Master's programs

The University of Osaka

National · Osaka English 2 years

Total fees¥1,353,600¥282,000 + ¥535,800 per yearEntrance examination fee ¥30,000. Law school tuition is higher (¥804,000). Fee source ↗

Set by each program

Scholarships
  • Full or partial exemption of tuition and/or matriculation fee for admitted applicants (screened)
  • MEXT scholarship
Admission details

English-taught Master's programs

The University of Osaka

National · Osaka 2 yearsSet by each program

How you get in
Each graduate school runs its own entrance examination; check its guidelines.
English
Set by each program
Selection
Set by each graduate school.
Intake
Set by each graduate school
Next deadline
Set by each graduate school

G30 International Programs (Master's)

Nagoya University

National · Nagoya English 2 years

Total fees¥1,353,600¥282,000 + ¥535,800 per yearFrom the G30 Public Health admission requirements (October 2027 entry). Fee source ↗

Professor's consent first

Scholarships
  • MEXT scholars (embassy or university recommendation): tuition waived, application fee refunded
Admission details

G30 International Programs (Master's)

Nagoya University

National · Nagoya 2 yearsProfessor's consent first

How you get in
Send a professor your CV and research proposal first; a supervisor interviews you before you apply (G30 Master of Public Health).
English
IELTS Academic 6.0 or TOEFL iBT 80 (G30 Public Health)
Selection
Document screening plus an interview or oral exam.
Intake
October (most G30 programs)
Next deadline
See the G30 admissions site

International Graduate Program (IGP)

Institute of Science Tokyo

National · Tokyo English 2 years (IGP A can combine master's + doctorate in 3–5 years)

Total fees¥1,552,800¥282,000 + ¥635,400 per yearApplication fee ¥30,000. Fees are subject to change. Fee source ↗

Professor's consent first

Scholarships
  • MEXT University Recommendation (Priority/General)
  • JASSO Honors Scholarship for privately financed students
Admission details

International Graduate Program (IGP)

Institute of Science Tokyo

National · Tokyo 2 years (IGP A can combine master's + doctorate in 3–5 years)Professor's consent first

How you get in
Find a supervisor on your IGP's faculty list, get their consent letter, then apply. An interview and/or exam follows.
English
See the IGP application guide
Selection
Interview and/or examination after document screening.
Intake
Fall (IGP A)
Next deadline
See the IGP application guide

Graduate Program in Global Studies (M.A.)

Sophia University

Private · Tokyo English 2 years

Total fees¥1,689,400¥945,400 first year (2026 entry)Second year estimated at 2026 rates; Sophia revises tuition yearly for inflation. Fee source ↗

Decided on documents

Scholarships
  • Some scholarships can be applied for with your admission application; others after entrance
Admission details

Graduate Program in Global Studies (M.A.)

Sophia University

Private · Tokyo 2 yearsDecided on documents

How you get in
Accepted or rejected on the documents you submit. Only some Ph.D. applicants are interviewed.
English
TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic (home editions not accepted)
Selection
None for M.A. applicants.
Intake
April or September
Next deadline
Spring and autumn application periods

Asia Pacific Studies (Master's)

Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University (APU)

Private · Beppu English 2 years

Total fees¥3,310,000¥200,000 + ¥3,110,000 tuition (from AY2027)Reduced by the APU Tuition Reduction Scholarship. Fee source ↗

Documents + interview

Scholarships
  • APU Tuition Reduction: 30%, 50%, 65%, 80% or 100% of tuition, decided at admission
  • MEXT University Recommendation: full tuition + ¥144,000 a month
Admission details

Asia Pacific Studies (Master's)

Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University (APU)

Private · Beppu 2 yearsDocuments + interview

How you get in
Evaluated on your documents, a video interview and online assessment tests.
English
TOEFL iBT 85, IELTS 6.5, TOEIC L&R 800 + S&W 315, or PTE 69
Selection
Video interview plus online assessment tests.
Intake
See APU's 2027 application schedule
Next deadline
See APU's 2027 application schedule

KMD Master's (Media Design)

Keio University, Graduate School of Media Design

Private · Yokohama English 2 years

Total fees¥3,985,200¥1,992,600 per year (April entry)Tuition ¥1,920,000 plus affiliation and health fees, payable in two installments. Fee source ↗

Set by each program

Scholarships
  • MEXT University Recommendation, chosen from entrance-exam applicants
  • Keio "Design the Future" Award for International Students
Admission details

KMD Master's (Media Design)

Keio University, Graduate School of Media Design

Private · Yokohama 2 yearsSet by each program

How you get in
Admission through KMD's entrance examination; scholarship candidates are chosen from its applicants.
English
See KMD admissions
Selection
Through KMD's entrance examination.
Intake
April or September
Next deadline
See KMD admissions

Asia-Pacific Studies (MA)

Waseda University, Graduate School of Asia-Pacific Studies

Private · Tokyo English 2 years

Total feesSee the GSAPS tuition pageFirst-semester tuition depends on your applicant category. Fee source ↗

Decided on documents

Scholarships
  • Waseda and JASSO scholarships (see the GSAPS tuition and scholarship page)
Admission details

Asia-Pacific Studies (MA)

Waseda University, Graduate School of Asia-Pacific Studies

Private · Tokyo 2 yearsDecided on documents

How you get in
English-based applications are screened mainly on your documents, with no written exam.
English
See the GSAPS application guide
Selection
Mainly document review.
Intake
September or April
Next deadline
See the GSAPS application guide

Can you get in just by paying?

No. A master's place is decided by your documents, your research plan and often a professor's consent or an interview. Paying fees comes after you are admitted.

  • Becoming a non-degree research student also needs a professor's acceptance, and it does not give you a degree.
  • Your student visa needs a Certificate of Eligibility, which the university applies for only after admitting you.
  • MEXT applicants can hold at most two letters of provisional acceptance, so pick professors carefully.
  • Apply through the university's own portal. Treat anyone who promises guaranteed admission for a fee as a red flag.

Study in Japan: graduate schools ↗Study in Japan: immigration and student visas ↗

The research plan and interview

What universities say they assess

  • Study in Japan (all universities)Willingness to do research, ability to identify issues, analytical and logical thinking, and knowledge of your field
  • Nagoya G30Your aptitude and fit with the program, through documents and an interview or oral exam
  • Science Tokyo IGPA supervisor's consent first, then an interview and/or examination
  • APUYour documents, a video interview and online assessment tests

Questions to prepare for

  1. Walk us through your research proposal: the question, why it matters and your method.
  2. Why this professor's lab and this university?
  3. What did you do in your undergraduate thesis or final project?
  4. Which skills and tools will you bring to the research?
  5. How does this master's fit your career plan, in Japan or at home?
  6. How will you fund your studies and living costs?
  7. Do you have any questions for us?

Built from the selection criteria these universities and Study in Japan publish. Exact questions vary by professor.

How to prepare

  • Write a 1–2 page research proposal: purpose, background, significance, methods and references.
  • Email each professor individually with your CV and proposal, and keep in touch politely.
  • Read two or three of the professor's recent papers before you talk to them.
  • Ask whether the program needs informal acceptance from a supervisor before you apply.
  • Book your English test early; some universities don't accept home or online editions.
  • MEXT applicants: get at most two provisional acceptance letters, and don't ask a second professor at a university that turned you down.
Sources 15

Checked on Oct 21, 2026 against official pages. Fees and rules change every year, so confirm on the university's site before you pay.

Funding

Scholarships

MEXT (Japanese Government)

¥143K–145K/mo

Plus tuition and airfare (¥144K a month for master's). The embassy route continues; University Recommendation (General) is expected to stop from 2027.

Study in Japan ↗

Young Leaders Program

¥242,000/mo

A 1-year MBA at Hitotsubashi ICS with tuition covered, for 18 countries including India, Bangladesh, Vietnam and the Philippines.

ICS scholarships ↗

School scholarships

Up to 100%

APU 30–100% of tuition; Waseda 50% of one year's tuition; NUCB up to 80% of the first semester for strong GMAT scores. GLOBIS and IUJ also offer tuition scholarships.

JASSO Honors

¥48,000/mo

For graduate students (¥30,000 a month for language-school students). You apply after enrolling.

JASSO ↗
Careful: Keio Business School teaches its MBA mostly in Japanese. Tokyo Metropolitan University's MBA runs evenings and weekends for people already working in Japan.